Thank you for sharing this page.


EUA Council for Doctoral Education welcomes three new members to Steering Committee

14 August 2013

The European University Association (EUA) is pleased to announce that its Board has recently appointed three new members for the Steering Committee of the EUA Council for Doctoral Education (EUA-CDE) to replace outgoing members. The new members are Jean-Dominique Polack (University Pierre and Marie Curie), Michael Fuller (University of Plymouth) and Václav Hampl (ex-officio EUA Board member, Charles University in Prague).

The EUA Council for Doctoral Education (EUA-CDE) was established in 2008 as an independent EUA membership service, designed to create a strong voice for European universities on doctoral education both inside Europe and internationally and to contribute to enhancing the visibility of doctoral schools and programmes.

The activities of the EUA-CDE, which now gathers more than 200 of EUA’s members, are managed independently through a Steering Committee whose members are formally appointed by the EUA Board. A member of the EUA Board also serves as an ex-officio member of the Steering Committee. The three new members appointed by the EUA Board join the current members of the EUA-CDE Steering Committee:

  • Chair: Melita Kovacevic, University of Zagreb
  • Vice-Chair: Berit Rokne, University of Bergen
  • M. Teresa Anguera, University of Barcelona   
  • Lucienne Blessing, University of Luxembourg 
  • Frank Bremmer, University of Marburg
  • Michael Fuller, University of Plymouth (new member)
  • Václav Hampl, Charles University in Prague, ex-officio EUA Board (new member)
  • Mary McNamara, Dublin Institute of Technology
  • Jean-Dominique Polack, University Pierre and Marie Curie (new member)

More information about the EUA-CDE is available here:

European University Association (EUA)

Brussels office:
Avenue de l’Yser, 24
1040 Brussels
Tel: +32 (0) 2 230 55 44

Geneva office:
114, Rue du Rhône
Case postale 3174
1211 Geneva 3
Tel: +41 22 552 02 96