Thank you for sharing this page.


EUA-CDE welcomes new Steering Committee chair and members

20 October 2016

On 14 October 2016, the Steering Committee of the EUA Council for Doctoral Education (EUA-CDE) met in Zurich to welcome its new chair and four new members. Luke Georghiou, Vice-President for Research and Innovation at the University of Manchester, is the new EUA-CDE chair.

CDE SteeringThe four newly appointed members are:

  • Hans-Joachim Bungartz, Technische Universität München
  • Aleksandra Kanjuo-Mrcela, University of Ljubljana
  • Timo Korkeamäki, Hanken School of Economics
  • Mossadek Talby, University Aix-Marseille
EUA Vice-President Martine Rahier, from the University of Neuchâtel, will also participate in the Steering Committee activities as ex-officio board member. 

The composition of the new members reflects the diversity of EUA’s membership in terms of geography and demonstrates Europe’s strength in the area of doctoral education, as the members come from institutions that have a solid research base and have displayed good practices in the training of early stage researchers. 

The other members of the Steering Committee are: Mary McNamara, Dublin Institute of Technology; Edwin Constable, University of Basel; Flavio Canavero, Politecnico di Torino; and Murat Özgören, Dokuz Eylül University.

EUA-CDE was established in 2008 as a membership service aimed at supporting universities in enhancing doctoral education and developing doctoral education in Europe. EUA-CDE currently has 239 members in 35 countries and is thus the largest European body dedicated to doctoral education.

For more information on EUA-CDE, please click here.

Photo ©EUA 
Back row (left to right): Hans-Joachim Bungartz, Timo Korkeamäki, David Oliva Uribe, Thomas Jørgensen, Aleksandra Kanjuo-Mrcela, Flavio Canavero and Mossadek Talby

Front row (left to right): Edwin Constable, Luke Georghiou, Martine Rahier, Lesley Wilson and Alexandra Bitusikova

European University Association (EUA)

Brussels office:
Avenue de l’Yser, 24
1040 Brussels
Tel: +32 (0) 2 230 55 44

Geneva office:
114, Rue du Rhône
Case postale 3174
1211 Geneva 3
Tel: +41 22 552 02 96